“(Susan) was undaunted by the stereotypes and she overcame all of those historical challenges in a very positive way.” — Wade Cooper, Managing Partner Jackson Walker.

Susan Halsey was a formidable Fort Worth attorney and businesswoman, including her chairmanship of the Board of Directors of the Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce in 2013-14. Halsey passed away from colon cancer in December 2014 and shortly thereafter, the Chamber started work on an annual Susan Halsey Executive Leadership award.

This year, nominations can be made from Feb. 15-March 15. Finalists will be selected March 22 and the winner announced at the Chamber Annual Meeting April 17.

Previous winners have been Lillie Biggins, retired President of Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Fort Worth, and Rick Merrill, President and CEO of Cook Children’s Health Care System.

Cooper said Halsey “really captivated people…She was one of those people that you would call a culture carrier. Her outlook on life really influenced everyone around her.”

Halsey was a founding member of the Greater Fort Worth Real Estate Council. She was the managing partner of Jackson Walker’s Fort Worth office and was honored by the Fort Worth Business Press as one of its “Great Women of Texas.”

The Susan Halsey Executive Leadership Award recognizes a President, Principal or Chief Executive Officer for “devoting time and energy to strengthen and transform the organization they lead. This includes specific situations or initiatives where the recipient’s insight, discernment and ability to lead and inspire have guided their organization to a new level of growth, achievement or recognition.”

Specific qualifications listed with the nomination form include: 1) Support business advancement; 2) Create a vision and inspire others; 3) Establish a positive image for the business while leading it to higher levels of success; 4) Encourage innovation and risk-taking among employees; 5) Give back to the community; and 6) Mentor.

Does that sound like you or your boss? Click here for the nomination instructions.


Nominations launch: February 15, 2019

Deadline for nominations/support letter: March 15, 2019

Finalists selected: March 22, 2019

Award recipient announced at Annual Meeting: April 17, 2019