Search Members

Spirit of Enterprise Award

Spirit of Enterprise Award

The Chairman’s Spirit of Enterprise Award was initiated in 1975 to recognize local companies that have made significant contributions to the development of our community. Selected by the four most recent chairs of the Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce, the recipient is selected for its contributions to the advancement and prosperity of the city, as well as its commitment to the preservation of the American private enterprise system.

Past Recipients:

1975 Tandy Corporation

1976 Mrs Baird’s Bakeries, Inc.

1977 Gearhart-Owen Industries, Inc.

1978 Justin Industries, Inc.

1979 The Western Company of North America

1980 American Manufacturing Company of Texas

1981 Texas Refinery Corp.

1982 Standard Meat Company

1983 Thornton Industries, Inc.

1984 Williamson-Dickie Manufacturing Company

1985 Texas American Bankshares Inc.

1986 American Airlines, Inc.

1987 Freese and Nichols, Inc.

1988 General Dynamics

1989 Pier 1 Imports, Inc.

1991 Bell Helicopter Textron Inc.

1992 Harris Methodist Health Systems

1993 Burlington Northern Railroad

1994 Alcon Laboratories, Inc.

1995 Union Pacific Resources

1996 Alliance Development Company, Inc.

1997 Southwestern Exposition and Livestock Show

1998 Southwestern Bell Telephone

1999 Fort Worth Star-Telegram

2000 TXU Electric & Gas

2001 Carter & Burgess, Inc.

2002 XTO Energy Inc.

2003 No award given

2004 Sundance Square

2005 Texas Christian University

2006 JPMorgan Chase

2007 Lockheed Martin

2008 Gideon Toal

2009 DFW International Airport

2010 Amon Carter Museum of American Art

2011 Wells Fargo

2012 Kelly Hart & Hallman

2013 Cook Children's Hospital

2014 Tarrant County College

2015 Acme Brick Company

2016 General Motors Financial Company, Inc.

2017 Byrne Construction Services