March Primary Ballots Finalized: What to Know

Policy Pulse December 14, 2023

The filing deadline for the March primary elections in Texas has come and gone, finalizing the field of candidates in various races up and down the ballot. Tarrant County positions such as County Commissioner and Sheriff all the way up to federal positions in the U.S. House of Representatives will appear on voters’ ballots next spring. Here’s what you need to know.


The Texas primary is being held on Tuesday, March 5, 2024. Also known as “Super Tuesday”, 15 other states and territories will hold their primary elections on the same date. Candidates for President and U.S. Senate will be on the ballot, as well as candidates running for a seat in the U.S. House of Representatives. Below are the contested congressional primary races involving seats that are at least partially located in Tarrant County.

U.S. House District 6 (Arlington)

Republican primary:

  • Jake Ellzey (incumbent)
  • James Buford
  • Cliff Wiley

U.S. House District 12 (Fort Worth)

This seat is being vacated by the retiring Congresswoman Kay Granger, chair of House Committee on Appropriations.

Republican primary:

  • Clint Dorris
  • Shellie Gardner
  • Sebastian Gehrig
  • Craig Goldman
  • Anne Henley
  • John O’Shea

U.S. House District 24 (North Richland Hills, H-E-B, Keller, Southlake, Grapevine)

Incumbent Congresswoman Beth Van Duyne is unopposed in the Republican Primary.

Democratic primary:

  • Sam Eppler
  • Francine Ly

U.S. House District 25 (Fort Worth, Arlington)

Republican primary:

  • Roger Williams (incumbent)
  • Vince Crabb
  • Matthew Lucci

U.S. House District 30 (Arlington)

Democratic primary:

  • Jasmine Crockett (incumbent)
  • Jarred Davis

U.S. House District 33 (Fort Worth)

Democratic primary:

  • Marc Veasey (incumbent)
  • Carlos Quintanilla

Republican primary:

  • Patrick David Gillespie
  • Kurt Schwab


While most State Senate and State Representative contests on the primary ballot this cycle are unopposed, there are a few contested primary races.

Texas House District 91

  • Stephanie Klick (incumbent)
  • David Lowe
  • Teresa Ramirez

Texas House District 97

This seat is being vacated by Representative Craig Goldman, who is running for U.S. House of Representatives.

Republican primary:

  • Cheryl Bean
  • Leslie Robnett
  • John McQueeney

Democratic primary:

  • Diane Symons
  • William Thorburn
  • Carlos Walker

Texas House District 99

Republican primary:

  • Charlie Geren (incumbent)
  • Jack Reynolds


Tarrant County Commissioner Precinct 1 is the only Commissioners Court seat that involves a contested primary on the March ballot. The seat is being vacated by incumbent Commissioner Roy Charles Brooks, who is not seeking re-election.

Democratic primary:

  • Darryl Brewer
  • Mia Hall
  • Kathleen Hicks
  • Roderick Miles

For a complete list of races that will be on the ballot, including additional offices and candidates running unopposed in their respective primaries, check out the Fort Worth Report’s full rundown of the March primary contests. Early voting will run from Tuesday, Feb. 20 through Friday, March 1. The final day to register to vote is Monday, Feb. 5.

Quick Facts: 286,362 people voted in the 2020 primary election in Tarrant County.

Source: Tarrant County Elections Office

Top Headlines


State and Local

Upcoming Dates

  • December 19: Tarrant County Commissioners Court, 10 a.m. at Tarrant County Courthouse
licensephone-handsettabletmenuarrow-rightThe owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility. linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram